Konuyu Oyla:
  • Derecelendirme: 0/5 - 0 oy
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Jeju Special Self-Governing Province (제주특별자치도 / Jeju-do)

Jeju Special Self-Governing Province (제주특별자치도 / Jeju-do)

Country: South Korea
Region: Jeju
Capital: Jeju City
Subdivisions: 2 cities; 0 counties
Total: 1,849 km2 (714 sq mi)
Area rank: 9th
Total: 506.049
Rank: 9th
Density: 287/km2 (740/sq mi)
Metropolitan Symbols
Flower: Chamkkot
Tree: Cinnamomum camphora
Bird: Woodpecker
Dialect: Jeju
Homepage: http://english.jeju.go.kr/


Jeju Province (officially the Jeju Special Self-governing Province is one of the nine provinces of South Korea. The province is situated on and coterminous with the nation's largest island, formerly transliterated as Cheju or known as Quelpart to Europeans. Jeju Province lies in the Korea Strait, southwest of South Jeolla Province, of which it was a part before it became a separate province in 1946. Its capital is Jeju City.

The island contains the natural World Heritage Site Jeju Volcanic Island and Lava Tubes. Jeju Island has a temperate climate and even in winter, the temperature rarely falls below freezing point. The interest in Hallasan, Seongsan Sunrise Peak, and the Geomun lava cave system emphasized the value and importance of academic, cultural and ecotourism-related features. Thus, in June 2007, on the Natural section of the World Heritage Site, Jeju Volcanic Island and Lava Tubes were registered.

Jeju Island has a mild oceanic climate throughout the year with the smallest annual temperature range in South Korea. The temperature for the hottest summer months averages no more than 35.8 ℃ in Jeju City and 33.0 ℃ in Seogwipo City and no less than -2.3℃ in Jeju City and -2.7 ℃ in Seogwipo City for winter.

The island is 73km wide and 31km long with a total area of 1,848.85㎢. Jeju, the largest island in South Korea, came into existence 700 to 1,200 thousand years ago when lava spewed from a sub-sea volcano and surfaced above the waters. Then 100 to 300 thousand years ago, another volcanic eruption formed Mt. Halla. The final volcanic eruption that took place approximately 25 thousand years ago created the crater lake, Baekrok-dam, at the summit of the mountain.

Mt. Halla rises in the center of Jeju to 1950m above sea level. The rest of the island slopes down from its summit and is covered with dark gray volcanic rocks and volcanic ash soil. Relatively isolated from the rest of the world, the island’s nature has been well preserved in its prehistoric state. That is why traveling to Jeju is to travel back in time.

Jeju’s natural environment has been preserved as best as possible. The fantastically shaped rocks decorating the seashores, the hundreds of Oreums(secondary volcanos) and the rarest species of flora and fauna around the Baekrok-dam lake are all treasures waiting to be discovered by visitors. One cannot see Jeju unless one looks. It is like seeing only trees before entering a forest.

[Resim: 250px-Jeju-teukbyeoljachi-do-in-South-Korea-svg.png]

Bu Konudaki Yorumlar
RE: Jeju Special Self-Governing Province (제주특별자치도 / Jeju-do) - Yazar: esra_kjm - 11-07-2013, Saat: 2:04

Konuyu Okuyanlar: 2 Ziyaretçi

Koreafans Hakkında

Lorem ipsum

              Quick Links

              User Links